Awards & Winners

Albert Einstein Award

Albert Einstein Award

The Albert Einstein Award was an award in theoretical physics that was established to recognize high achievement in the natural sciences. It was endowed by the Lewis and Rosa Strauss Memorial Fund in honor of Albert Einstein's 70th birthday. It was first awarded in 1951 and an addition to a gold medal of Einstein by sculptor Gilroy Roberts, it also included a prize money of $15,000, which was later reduced to $5,000. The winner was selected by a committee of the Institute for Advanced Study, which administered the award. Lewis L. Strauss used to be one of the trustees of the institute. This award should not be confused with many others named after the famous physicist, such as the Albert Einstein World Award of Science given by the World Cultural Council, the Albert Einstein Medal given by the Albert Einstein Society, nor with the Hans Albert Einstein Award, named after his son and given by the American Society of Civil Engineers. It was established much earlier than these, when Einstein was still alive and was a professor at the Institute for Advanced Study. It has been called "the highest of its kind in the United States" by The New York Times. Some considered it as "the prestigious equivalent of a Nobel Prize".
Date Established : 1951
Date Discontinued : 1979

Check all the winners of Albert Einstein Award presented under Albert Einstein Award since 1951 .

Yuval Ne'eman

(For his unique contribution in the field of physics.)