Awards & Winners

Bram Stoker Award

The Bram Stoker Award is a recognition presented by the Horror Writers Association for "superior achievement" in dark fantasy and horror writing. The Awards have been presented annually since 1987, and the winners are selected by ballot of the Active members of the HWA. They are named after influential Irish horror writer Bram Stoker, author of the novel Dracula, among others. Several members of the HWA—including Dean Koontz—were reluctant to endorse such writing awards, fearing it would incite competitiveness rather than friendly admiration. The HWA therefore went to lengths to avoid mean-spirited competition, they agreed to specifically seek out new and neglected writers and works, and officially issue Awards not based on "best of the year" criteria, but "for superior achievement", which allows for ties. Nominated works come from two different processes. Firstly, works can be recommended by any member of the HWA and secondly, a separate list of works is presented by a Jury for each category. Members with Active status then vote on works appearing on preliminary ballots. The field is thereby narrowed to the Final ballot; and Active members vote to choose the winners from that Final Ballot.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Bram Stoker Award since 1987.

Bram Stoker Award


Check all the winners of 2010 Bram Stoker Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)