Awards & Winners

CableACE Award

The CableACE Award was an award that was given from 1978 to 1997 to honor excellence in American cable television programming. It was created by the National Cable Television Association to serve as a cable television counterpart to the Primetime Emmy Awards, which before their 40th ceremony in 1988 did not recognize cable programming. The actual trophy was a large trophy made of glass blown and cut into the shape of the Ace of Spades. By 1997, the Emmys had long included cable television programming, making the CableACEs redundant. In April of 1998, NCTA members voted to end the ceremony as cable programming began to meet parity, and at times overtake broadcast competition within the categories of the Primetime Emmys. At one time, the live awards show was carried in a simulcast of as many as twelve cable networks in some years. The last few years found the ceremony awarded solely to one network, usually Lifetime or TBS.

|   1997 CableAce Awards  |   1996 CableAce Awards  |   The 10th Annual National CableACE Awards  |
CableACE Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the CableACE Award since 1985.

CableACE Award


Check all the winners of 1997 CableACE Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
George Carlin
Honored for : George Carlin: 40 Years of Comedy
Honored for : The Big Help