Awards & Winners

Juno Award for Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year

Juno Award

The Juno Award for "Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year" has been awarded since 1977, as recognition each year for the best contemporary jazz album in Canada.
Date Established : 1994

Check all the winners of Juno Award for Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year presented under Juno Award since 1994 .

Christine Jensen Jazz Orchestra

Honored for : Habitat

Nominations 2014 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Brandi Disterheft Gratitude
Christine Jensen Jazz Orchestra Habitat
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society Brooklyn Babylon
Earl MacDonald Mirror of the Mind
Trifolia Le Refuge

Joel Miller

Honored for : Swim

Nominations 2013 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Alex Goodman Quintet Bridges
Allison Au Quartet The Sky Was Pale Blue, Then Grey
François Houle 5+1 Genera
Joel Miller Swim
Rafael Zaldivar Drawing

Phil Dwyer Orchestra, Mark Fewer

Honored for : Changing Seasons

Nominations 2012 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Phil Dwyer Orchestra Changing Seasons
Mark Fewer Changing Seasons
Hilario Durán Cuban Rhapsody
Colin Stetson New History Warfare Vol. 2: Judges
Chris Tarry Rest of the Story


Nominations 2011 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Chet Doxas Big Sky
Matt Herskowitz Jerusalem Trilogy
Adrean Farrugia Ricochet
Kelly Jefferson Next Exit

Charles Spearin

Honored for : The Happiness Project

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Charles Spearin The Happiness Project
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society Infernal Machines
Hilario Duran Trio Motion
John Roney Silverbirch
Kirk MacDonald Quartet Songbook Vol. 1

Jane Bunnett

Honored for : Embracing Voices

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Roberto Occhipinti A Bend In The River
Jane Bunnett Embracing Voices
Barry Romberg’s Random Access Large Ensemble Existential Detective
Michael Occhipinti The Sicilian Jazz Project

The Chris Tarry Group

Honored for : Almost Certainly Dreaming

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
The Chris Tarry Group Almost Certainly Dreaming
Michael Occhipinti and Creation Dream Chasing After Light
David Occhipinti Forty Revolutions
Altered Laws Metaphora
Manteca Onward

Hilario Durán

Honored for : From the Heart

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Hilario Durán From the Heart
Ingrid Jensen At Sea
Hugh Marsh Hugmars
Richard Underhill Moment in Time
Kent Sangster Obsession

Jane Bunnett

Honored for : Radio Guantánamo: Guantánamo Blues Project, Volume 1

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jane Bunnett Radio Guantánamo: Guantánamo Blues Project, Volume 1
Roberto Occhipinti Yemaya
Perspectiva Encuentro En La Habana
Hilario Durán Encuentro En La Habana
Marc Rogers One Take: Volume Two
Terri Lyne Carrington One Take: Volume Two
Phil Dwyer One Take: Volume Two
Robi Botos One Take: Volume Two
David Buchbinder Shurum Burum Jazz Circus

Hilario Duran Trio

Honored for : New Danzon

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Hilario Duran Trio New Danzon
Sam Rivers City of Neighbourhoods
Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra City of Neighbourhoods
Alain Caron 5
Jane Bunnett Red Dragonfly (aka Tombo)
Sekoya Sekoya

Great Uncles of the Revolution

Honored for : Blow the House Down

Nominations 2004 »

Nominee Nominated Work
D.D. Jackson Suite For New York
Indefinite Time
Metalwood Chronic
Michael Kaeshammer Strut
Great Uncles of the Revolution Blow the House Down

Richard Underhill

Honored for : Tales From The Blue Lounge

Nominations 2003 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Warren Hill Love Songs
Richard Underhill Tales From The Blue Lounge
Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra Highwire
Vuja De Mistura
Jean-Pierre Zanella Mother Tree

Nominations 2002 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Trio François Bourassa Live
André Leroux Live
Jeff Johnston Trio Nuage
Chris Tarry Of Battles Unknown Mysteries
D.D. Jackson Sigame
Metalwood The Recline

François Carrier Trio + 1

Honored for : Compassion

Nominations 2001 »

Nominee Nominated Work
François Carrier Trio + 1 Compassion
Knut Haugsoen Step and a Half
Metalwood Metalwood 3
Michael Kaeshammer No Strings Attached
Michael Occhipinti Creation Dream

D.D. Jackson

Honored for : far

Nominations 2000 »

Nominee Nominated Work
D.D. Jackson far
Paul Novotny Blue Jade
Joe Sealy Blue Jade
Jeff Johnston Trio The Field
Bob Shaw Freeflight
Freeflight Freeflight
Jean-Pierre Zanella Puzzle City


Honored for : Metalwood 2

Nominations 1999 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Metalwood Metalwood 2
Hard Rubber Orchestra Cruel Yet Fair
François Houle In the Vernacular: The Music of John Carter
Phil Dwyer Road Stories
Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra You Are Here


Honored for : Metalwood

Nominations 1998 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Carol Welsman Inclined
D.D. Jackson Paired Down - Volume One
Metalwood Metalwood
Stefan Bauer Best of Two Worlds
Ted Quinlan As If

Joe Sealy

Honored for : Africville Suite

Nominations 1997 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Joe Sealy Africville Suite
Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra FireWater
Sonny Greenwich Spirit in the Air
James Gelfand Time Zones
Paul Bley Touché
Kenny Wheeler Touché

Nominations 1996 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Neufeld-Occhipinti Jazz Orchestra NOJO
The Merlin Factor Frontier Tunes
Carol Welsman Lucky to Be Me
Jane Bunnett Rendez-vous Brazil Cuba
Rich Shadrach Lazar and Montuno Police Touch

The Merlin Factor

Honored for : The Merlin Factor

Nominations 1995 »

Nominee Nominated Work
The Merlin Factor The Merlin Factor
Paul Novotny & Joe Sealy Dual Vision
John Stetch Carpathian Blues
Mark Duggan We Were Talking
Sonny Greenwich Hymn to the Earth

Holly Cole Trio

Honored for : Don't Smoke in Bed

Nominations 1994 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Holly Cole Trio Don't Smoke in Bed
Garbo's Hat Face the Music
Michael Farquharson Michael Farquharson
Five After Four Notorious
Vito Rezza Notorious
David Mott The Standard Line