Awards & Winners

Nobel Peace Prize

Nobel Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize is one of the five Nobel Prizes created by the Swedish industrialist, inventor, and armaments manufacturer Alfred Nobel, along with the prizes in Chemistry, Physics, Physiology or Medicine, and Literature. Since 1901, it has been awarded annually to those who have "done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses." Per Alfred Nobel's will, the recipient is selected by the Norwegian Nobel Committee, a 5-member committee appointed by the Parliament of Norway. Since 1990, the prize is awarded on 10 December in Oslo City Hall each year. The prize was formerly awarded in the Atrium of the University of Oslo Faculty of Law, the Norwegian Nobel Institute, and the Parliament. Due to its political nature, the Nobel Peace Prize has, for most of its history, been the subject of controversies.
Date Established : 1901

Check all the winners of Nobel Peace Prize presented under Nobel Prize since 1901 .

Kailash Satyarthi, Malala Yousafzai

(for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education)

Nominations 2014 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Vladimir Putin
"For actively promoting settlement of all conflicts arising on the planet"

Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons

(for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons)

Nominations 2013 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Malala Yousafzai

European Union

(for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe)

Leymah Gbowee, Tawakkol Karman, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

(for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work)

Liu Xiaobo

(for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China)

Barack Obama

(for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples)

Martti Ahtisaari

(for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts)

Al Gore, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

(for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change)

Muhammad Yunus, Grameen Bank

(for their efforts to create economic and social development from below)

Mohamed ElBaradei, International Atomic Energy Agency

(for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way)

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Mandy Carter

Wangari Maathai

(for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace)

Shirin Ebadi

(for her efforts for democracy and human rights. She has focused especially on the struggle for the rights of women and children)

Jimmy Carter

(for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development)

United Nations, Kofi Annan

(for their work for a better organized and more peaceful world)

Kim Dae-jung

(for his work for democracy and human rights in South Korea and in East Asia in general, and for peace and reconciliation with North Korea in particular)

Médecins Sans Frontières

(in recognition of the organization's pioneering humanitarian work on several continents)

Nominations 1999 »

Nominee Nominated Work

John Hume, David Trimble

(for their efforts to find a peaceful solution to the conflict in Northern Ireland)

International Campaign to Ban Landmines, Jody Williams

(for their work for the banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines)

José Ramos-Horta, Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo

(for their work towards a just and peaceful solution to the conflict in East Timor.)

Joseph Rotblat, Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs

(for their efforts to diminish the part played by nuclear arms in international politics and, in the longer run, to eliminate such arms)

Yasser Arafat, Shimon Peres, Yitzhak Rabin

(for their efforts to create peace in the Middle East)

Nelson Mandela, Frederik Willem de Klerk

(for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa.)

Rigoberta Menchú

(in recognition of her work for social justice and ethno-cultural reconciliation based on respect for the rights of indigenous peoples)

Aung San Suu Kyi

(for her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights)

Mikhail Gorbachev

(for his leading role in the peace process which today characterizes important parts of the international community)

Óscar Arias

(for his work for peace in Central America, efforts which led to the accord signed in Guatemala on August 7 this year)

Nominations 1982 »

Nominee Nominated Work

Nominations 1971 »

Nominee Nominated Work

Albert Schweitzer

(for his philosophy of Reverence for Life.)

Nominations 1905 »

Nominee Nominated Work