Awards & Winners

Robert Olen Butler Prize

Robert Olen Butler Prize

The Robert Olen Butler Prize is a prize for short fiction awarded by Del Sol Press in conjunction with Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Robert Olen Butler, who chooses the winning story. The winning stories are also collected into an annual anthology, The Robert Olen Butler Prize Anthology. As of 2009, three individuals had appeared in the anthology more than once: Jacob M. Appel, Erin Soros and Mark Wisniewski. The award was conceived by Michael Neff, and has been influential in launching the careers of such writers as Lynn Veach Sadler, Charles Yu, Roy Kesey and Cris Mazza.

Check all the winners of Robert Olen Butler Prize presented under Robert Olen Butler Prize since 2005 .

Annie Weatherwax

Honored for : The Possibility of Things

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Annie Weatherwax The Possibility of Things
Jacob M. Appel The Appraisal
Erin Soros Surge
Mark Wisniewski Without Good-byes
Porter Fox Caribou
James Gish Jr. Wandering Boy
Gregory Loselle Buried Dinner
Geraldine Ann Marshall Secrets of Wood
Dolen Perkins-Valdez The Clipping
Michael Schivone The Heatseeker
Shubha Venugopal Lalita and the Banyan Tree

Kimberly Willardson

Honored for : Winter Memories of the Summer Bear

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kimberly Willardson Winter Memories of the Summer Bear
Christina Yu Christmas in the Neighborhood
Jacob M. Appel Animal Control
Erin Soros The Chorus
Mark Wisniewski Stricken
Miriam Gershow Carker
Nick Healy Joyless Men
Brodie Smith Watch Him Burn
Naomi Williams The Report

Valerie Hurley

Honored for : Jasmine, Washing the Hair of Pearsa

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Valerie Hurley Jasmine, Washing the Hair of Pearsa
Jacob M. Appel Enoch Arden\u2019s One Night Stands
Mark Wisniewski Prisoners of War
Stephenie Brown The Wheel Wright
Lauren Cobb No Place
Greg Hrbek Bereavement
LaTanya McQueen Once
Jamie Pearlberg A Wedding Tale
Matthew Pitt The Mean
Scott Winokur Hideous Thing

Matthew J. Sullivan

Honored for : Unfound

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Matthew J. Sullivan Unfound
Cris Mazza Our Time Is Up
Jeff Parker The Taste of Penny
Jacob M. Appel Shell Game with Organs
Cheryl Alu Girl
Kerry Dolan Falling Off the George Washington Bridge
Alicia Gifford Gorgeous World
Alison Lee Kinney Term
Phil LaMarche In the Tradition of My Family
Bill Pettitt This Is Not About Me
Peter Paul Smith Kleebe
Alia Yunis A Nearly Blonde Christmas

E. R. Catalano

Honored for : News from My Father

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
E. R. Catalano News from My Father
Charles Yu My Last Days as Me
Lynn Veach Sadler Miss Spam Maps of Vegas
Roy Kesey Invunche y Voladora
Thomas P. Balazs Omicron Ceti III
Ariana-Sophia Kartsonis Sundress
Gloria DeVidas Kirchheimer Malika
Karen Kovacik My Polish Widower
Dylan Landis Jazz
Kelly Magee Not People, Not This
Marianne Taylor Who is the Hardware