Awards & Winners

Saturn Award for Best Director

Saturn Award

The Saturn Award for Best Director is one of the annual awards given by the American Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films. The Saturn Awards, which are the oldest film-specialized awards to reward science fiction, fantasy, and horror achievements, included the Best Director category for the first time at the 3rd Saturn Awards, for the 1974/1975 film years. The award is also the oldest to honor film directors in science fiction, fantasy and horror. It has been given 36 times, including a tie for the 1977 film year. James Cameron holds the record of the most wins with five, while Steven Spielberg is the most nominated director with eleven nominations. Only two other directors have won the award more than once: Peter Jackson and Bryan Singer. At the 22nd Saturn Awards, Kathryn Bigelow became the first woman to win the award, 15 years before becoming the first woman to win the Academy Award for Best Director. Spielberg is also the first director to win Best Director fom both the Saturn Awards and the Academy Awards at the same year, but for different movies; while Peter Jackson is the first to win both for the same film.

Check all the winners of Saturn Award for Best Director presented under Saturn Award since 1976 .

Christopher Nolan

Honored for : Inception

James Cameron

Honored for : Avatar

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Quentin Tarantino Inglourious Basterds
James Cameron Avatar

Jon Favreau

Honored for : Iron Man

Zack Snyder

Honored for : 300

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Clint Eastwood Changeling

Bryan Singer

Honored for : Superman Returns

Peter Jackson

Honored for : King Kong

Sam Raimi

Honored for : Spider-Man 2

Peter Jackson

Honored for : The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Nominations 2004 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Danny Boyle 28 Days Later
Michael Mann Collateral

Steven Spielberg

Honored for : Minority Report

Peter Jackson

Honored for : The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Bryan Singer

Honored for : X-Men

Lana Wachowski, Andy Wachowski

Honored for : The Matrix

Michael Bay

Honored for : Armageddon

Nominations 1999 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Lana Wachowski The Matrix
Andy Wachowski The Matrix
Rob Bowman The X-Files

John Woo

Honored for : Face/Off

Nominations 1998 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jean-Pierre Jeunet Alien Resurrection

Roland Emmerich

Honored for : Independence Day

Nominations 1997 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tim Burton Mars Attacks!
Robert Zemeckis Contact

Kathryn Bigelow

Honored for : Strange Days

Nominations 1996 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jonathan Frakes Star Trek: First Contact

James Cameron

Honored for : True Lies

Steven Spielberg

Honored for : Jurassic Park

Francis Ford Coppola

Honored for : Bram Stoker's Dracula

James Cameron

Honored for : Terminator 2: Judgment Day

James Cameron

Honored for : The Abyss

Robert Zemeckis

Honored for : Who Framed Roger Rabbit

Paul Verhoeven

Honored for : RoboCop

James Cameron

Honored for : Aliens

Ron Howard

Honored for : Cocoon

Joe Dante

Honored for : Gremlins

John Badham

Honored for : WarGames

Nominations 1984 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Ron Howard Splash

Nicholas Meyer

Honored for : Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Nominations 1983 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Nicholas Meyer Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

Steven Spielberg

Honored for : Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark

Irvin Kershner

Honored for : Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

Ridley Scott

Honored for : Alien

Philip Kaufman

Honored for : Invasion of the Body Snatchers

George Lucas

Honored for : Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope

Steven Spielberg

Honored for : Close Encounters of the Third Kind

Dan Curtis

Honored for : Burnt Offerings

Mel Brooks

Honored for : Young Frankenstein