Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

1939 Retro-Hugo Awards Announced By The 72nd World Science Fiction Convention Loncon 3

The 1939 Retrospective Hugo Awards are announced by the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, Loncon 3,ceremony on the evening of Thursday, August 14, 2014. The ceremony was hosted by Mary Robinette Kowal and Rob Shearman.
The Retro Hugo Awards recognize the best in science fiction, fantasy, and fandom from 1938. This awards given for the works that attendees would have known at the time of the very first Worldcon, held in New York in 1939.

1939 Retro-Hugo Awards Winners
Category Winner
Best Novel The Sword in the Stone, T. H. White (Collins)
Best Novella “Who Goes There?”, Don A Stuart [John W. Campbell] (Astounding Science-Fiction, August 1938)
Best Novelette “Rule 18”, Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science-Fiction, July 1938)
Best Short Story “How We Went to Mars”, Arthur C. Clarke (Amateur Science Stories, March 1938)
Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form The War of the Worlds, by H. G. Wells. Written by Howard Koch & Anne Froelick; Directed by Orson Welles (The Mercury Theater of the Air, CBS)
Best Editor, Short Form John W. Campbell
Best Professional Artist Virgil Finlay
Best Fanzine Imagination! edited by Forrest J Ackerman, Morojo, and T. Bruce Yerke
Best Fan Writer Ray Bradbury

The 1939 Retrospective Hugo Award winners were announced on Thursday evening, August 14, 2014, at the at the ExCel Convention Center in London, England. The 1939 Retro-Hugo trophy base was designed by Marina Gélineau.

Awards & Winners © 2014