Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

2014 Fields Medalists are announced, Maryam Mirzakhani Frist Woman To Receive The Medal

field-MedalThis year Field Medal is given to four Mathematicians, they are
1. Artur Avila
2. Manjul Bhargava
3. Martin Hairer
4. Maryam Mirzakhani.

The Fields Medal is considered to be the most prestigious award in mathematics. The Fields Medal often described as the “mathematician’s Nobel Prize”. The Fields Medal is given to the mathematicians under the age of 40 from the International Congress of Mathematicians, every four years. The award given to the outstanding mathematical achievement for existing work and for the promise of future achievement.

Maryam Mirzakhani

Maryam Mirzakhani

Maryam Mirzakhani, An Iranian mathematician who is professor at Stanford, is the first woman ever to receive a Fields Medal. After receiving the medal Maryam Mirzakhani says, “This is a great honor. I will be happy if it encourages young female scientists and mathematicians,” Dr. Mirzakhani was quoted as saying in a Stanford news release on Tuesday. “I am sure there will be many more women winning this kind of award in coming years.”
Maryam Mirzakhani’, 37, Maryam Mirzakhani has made striking and highly original contributions to geometry and dynamical systems. Her work on Riemann surfaces and their moduli spaces bridges several mathematical disciplines|hyperbolic geometry, complex analysis, topology, and dynamics and in sequences them all in return. She gained widespread recognition for her early results in hyperbolic geometry, and her most recent work constitutes a major advance in dynamical systems. Born in 1977 in Tehran, Iran, Maryam Mirzakhani received her Ph.D. in 2004 from Harvard University, where her adviser was Curtis McMullen. From 2004 to 2008 she was a Clay Mathematics Institute Research Fellow and an assistant professor at Princeton University. She is currently a professor at Stanford University.


Artur Avila

Artur Avila, 35, is a Brazilian mathematician. Born in Brazil in 1979, Artur Avila is also a naturalized French citizen. He received his PhD in 2001 from the Instituto Nacional de Matematica Pura e Aplicada (IMPA) in Rio de Janeiro, where his adviser was Welington de Melo. Artur Avila has made outstanding contributions to dynamical systems, analysis, and other areas, in many cases proving decisive results that solved long-standing open problems. A native of Brazil who spends part of his time there and part in France, he combines the strong mathematical cultures and traditions of both countries. Nearly all his work has been done through collaborations with some 30 mathematicians around the world. To these collaborations Avila brings formidable technical power, the ingenuity and tenacity of a master problem-solver, and an unerring sense for deep and significant questions.


Manjul Bhargava

Manjul Bhargava’s work in number theory has had a profound influence on the field. A mathematician of extraordinary creativity, he has a taste for simple problems of timeless beauty, which he has solved by developing elegant and powerful new methods that offer deep insights. Dr. Manjul Bhargava, Born in 1974 in Canada, Manjul Bhargava grew up primarily in the USA and also spent much time in India. He received his PhD in 2001 from Princeton University, under the direction of Andrew Wiles. Bhargava became a professor at Princeton in 2003.

Martin Hairer

Martin Hairer

Martin Hairer has made a major breakthrough in the study of stochastic partial differential equations by creating a new theory that provides tools for attacking problems that up to now had seemed impenetrable. Born in 1975, Martin Hairer is an Austrian citizen. In 2001, he received his PhD in physics from the University of Geneva, under the direction of Jean-Pierre Eckmann. He is currently Professor of Mathematics at the University of Warwick.

For more detail of winners of Field Medal Please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014