Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

2014 Hugo Awards Winners Are Announced By The 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, Loncon 3

Check the full list of winners of 2014 Hugo Awards. The 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, Loncon 3, has announced the 2014 Hugo Award winners. 3587 valid ballots were received and counted in the final ballot.hugo-awards-2014
The 2014 Hugo Award winners were announced on Sunday evening, August 17, at the ExCel Converntion Centre in London, England. The ceremony was hosted by Justina Robson, Geoff Ryman. Text-based CoverItLive coverage of the ceremony was provided through the Hugo Awards web site. Video streaming coverage was provided by Ustream.
The 2014 Hugo trophy base was designed by Joy Alyssa Day.

2014 Hugo Award Winners
Category Winners
Best Novel Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie (Orbit US / Orbit UK)
Best Novella “Equoid” by Charles Stross (, 09-2013)
Best Novelette “The Lady Astronaut of Mars” by Mary Robinette Kowal ( /
Best Short Story “The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere” by John Chu (, 02-2013)
Best Related Work “We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative” by Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink)
Best Graphic Story “Time” by Randall Munroe (xkcd)
Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form Gravity written by Alfonso Cuarón & Jonás Cuarón, directed by Alfonso Cuarón (Esperanto Filmoj; Heyday Films;Warner Bros.)
Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form Game of Thrones “The Rains of Castamere” written by David Benioff & D.B. Weiss, directed by David Nutter (HBO Entertainment in association with Bighead, Littlehead; Television 360; Startling Television and Generator Productions)
Best Editor, Short Form Ellen Datlow
Best Editor, Long Form Ginjer Buchanan
Best Professional Artist Julie Dillon
Best Semiprozine Lightspeed Magazine edited by John Joseph Adams, Rich Horton, and Stefan Rudnicki
Best Fanzine A Dribble of Ink edited by Aidan Moher
Best Fancast SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester
Best Fan Writer Kameron Hurley
Best Fan Artist Sarah Webb
John W. Campbell Award For Best New Writer
Award For The Best New Professional Science Fiction Or Fantasy Writer Of 2012 Or 2013, Sponsored By Dell Magazines (Not A Hugo Award). Sofia Samatar

For more detail of winners and nominations of Hugo Awards visit

Awards & Winners © 2014