Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

2016 Geffen Awards Shortlist Revealed

Israeli Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy announced The nominees for the 2016 Geffen Awards (Israel Speculative Fiction Awards). The award is given annually for books and the best stories published in Hebrew and are named after the late Amos Geffen, one of the first editors and translators of sci-fi in Israel.

Geffen awardsHere are the finalists for the three categories of sf/f books translated into Hebrew.

2016 Geffen Awards(Israel Speculative Fiction Award) Shortlist
Category Winner
Best Translated Fantasy Book 
Stolen by Kelley Armstrong, translated by Vered Tochterman (Yaniv Publishing)
Fool Moon by Jim Butcher, translated by Vered Tochterman (Yaniv Publishing)
The Magicians by Lev Grossman, translated by Guy Herling (KM Press)
Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb, translated by Tzafrir Grosman (Opus Publishing)
A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R. R.  Martin, translated by Tzafrir Grosman (Opus Publishing)
Best Translated Science Fiction Book
Ancillary Justice + Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie, translated by Emanuel Lotem (Syal Publishing)
Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson, translated by Yonatan Bar (Syal Publishing)
The Hidden Family by Charles Stross, translated by Vered Tochterman (Yaniv Publishing)
Redshirts by John Scalzi, translated by Tzafrir Grosman (Opus Publishing)
The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate + The Lifecycle of Software Objects + The Truth of Fact, The Truth of Feeling by Ted Chiang, translated by Didi Chanoch (Tara Publishing)
Best Translated Young Adult Book
The Road to Oz by Frank Baum, translated by Gili Bar-Hillel (Utz Publishing)
Cinder by Marissa Mayer, translated by Yael Achmon (Kinneret Zmora-Bitan Dvir Publishing)
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, translated by Michal Alfon (Kinneret Zmora-Bitan Dvir Publishing)
The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan, translated by Yael Achmon (Graf Publishing)
The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex, translated by Noa Shavit (Utz Publishing)

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014