Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

2016 Sturgeon Award Finalists

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial AwardThe nominees for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced via a press release. The Sturgeon Award recognizes the best science fiction short story each year.

The award will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet as part of MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held August 17-21, 2016 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas MO.

The finalists for the 2016 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award are:

  • “And You Shall Know Her By The Trail Of Dead,” Brooke Bolander. Lightspeed, Feb 2015.
  • “The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred,” Greg Egan. Asimov’s, Dec 2015.
  • “The New Mother,” Eugene Fischer. Asimov’s, Apr/May 2015.
  • “Folding Beijing,” Hao Jingfang, translated by Ken Liu. Uncanny Magazine, Jan/Feb 2015.
  • “Emergence,” Gwyneth Jones. Meeting Infinity, ed. Jonathan Strahan. Solaris.
  • “Damage,” David D. Levine., 21 Jan 2015.
  • “The Game of Smash and Recovery,” Kelly Link. Strange Horizons, 17 Oct 2015.
  • “Botanica Veneris: Thirteen Papercuts by Ida Countess Rathangan,” Ian McDonald. Old Venus, eds. G.R.R.Martin and Gardner Dozois. Bantam Books.
  • “Our Lady of the Open Road,” Sarah Pinsker. Asimov’s, Jun 2015.
  • “The Three Resurrections of Jessica Churchill,” Kelly Robson. Clarkesworld, Feb 2015.
  • “Gypsy,” Carter Scholz. Fantasy & Science Fiction, Nov/Dec 2015.
  • “Avery Cates: The Walled City,” Jeff Somers. Kindle edition, Jun 2015.

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014