Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

2016 Sunburst Award Shortlist Announced

The Sunburst AwardThe Sunburst Award Committee has announced shortlist for the 2016 Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. This year’s shortlists—for Adult Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, and Short Story (a new category) — showcase the impressive breadth and depth of Canadian literature of the fantastic.

Winners will be announced on September 14, 2016 and will receive a cash prize of $1,000 for the Adult and Young Adult categories and $500 for the Short Story category, as well as hand-crafted sunburst medallions. The jurors for the 2016 award are Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

Below are this year’s shortlists :

2016 Sunburst Award Shortlist

Category Nominees
The Little Washer of Sorrows, Katherine Fawcett (Thistledown)
Experimental Film, Gemma Files (Chizine)
Signal to Noise, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Solaris)
Daydreams of Angels, Heather O’Neill (HarperCollins Canada)
The Affinities, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
Young Adult:
An Inheritance of Ashes, Leah Bobet (Scholastic Canada)
Sight Unseen, David Carroll (Scholastic Canada)
The Unquiet, Mikaela Everett (HarperCollins)
The Nest, Kenneth Oppel (HarperCollins)
Boo, Neil Smith (Knopf)
Short Story:
“La Héron”, Charlotte Ashley (F&SF 3-4/15)
“The Glad Hosts”, Rebecca Campbell, (Lackington’s #7)
“Stuck in the Past”, Mike Donoghue (Abyss & Apex #54)
“Hide and Seek”, Catherine A. MacLeod (Playground of Lost Toys)
“Two-Year Man”, Kelly Robson [Asimov’s, August 2015]
“Get the Message”, Peter Wendt (Second Contacts)

The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction.

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014