Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

20th International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award Shortlist are Announced

20th International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary AwardOn 15th April 2015, Shortlist are announced of International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award. The 10 novels have been shortlisted for the 20th International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, managed by Dublin City Libraries. The list includes TransAtlantic by Irish author and former winner, Colum McCann, three novels in translation from Brazil, France and Morocco and novels from Australia, Nigeria, the UK and the USA.

The IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, an initiative of Dublin City Council, is worth €100,000 to the winner and is the world’s most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English. The award was launched on 7th April 1995, making this year our 20th anniversary.

The shortlisted titles are given below :

2015 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award Nomination

Book Name Nomination Publisher
Americanah Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigerian) Fourth Estate and by Alfred A. Knopf
Horses of God Mahi Binebine (Moroccan) Translated from French by Lulu Norman Tin House Books
Harvest Jim Crace (British) Picador and by Alfred A. Knopf
The Narrow Road to the Deep North Richard Flanagan (Australian) Vintage Australia
Burial Rites Hannah Kent (Australian) First Novel Little, Brown & Company and by Picador Australia
K Bernardo Kucinski (Brazilian) Translated from Portuguese by Sue Branford Latin American Bureau
Brief Loves That Live Forever Andreï Makine (French, Russian-born) Translated from French by Geoffrey Strachan MacLehose Press
TransAtlantic Colum McCann (Irish) Published by Bloomsbury Random House Inc. and HarperCollins Canada
Someone Alice McDermott (American) Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Sparta Roxana Robinson (American) Farrar, Straus & Giroux

“The titles on this year’s shortlist were nominated by public libraries in Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK and the USA”,

“The 20th winner will be chosen from this intriguing international shortlist which includes four women writers. The novels come from Africa, America, Australia, Brazil, France, Ireland and the UK”

The five member international judging panel are Valentine Cunningham, Christine Dwyer Hickey, Daniel Hahn, Kate Pullinger and Jordi Soler; chaired by Hon. Eugene R. Sullivan, will select one winner which will be announced by the Lord Mayor on 17th June 2015.

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014