Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners


2016 Arthur C. Clarke AwardThe six titles on the Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist for best science fiction novel published in 2015 have been announced as part of the opening ceremony of the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 24th August at a celebratory award ceremony held at the Charing Cross Road branch of the bookseller Foyles. The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2016.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

The six shortlisted books are :

30th Arthur C. Clarke Award Shortlist

Novel Writer Publisher
The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet Becky Chambers Hodder & Stoughton
Europe at Midnight Dave Hutchinson Solaris
The Book of Phoenix Nnedi Okorafor Hodder & Stoughton
Arcadia Iain Pears Faber & Faber
Way Down Dark J.P. Smythe Hodder & Stoughton
Children of Time Adrian Tchaikovsky Tor

The 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a list of 113 individual eligible submissions, put forward by 41 different publishing houses and imprints.

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2016 are :

  • David Gullen , British Science Fiction Association
  • Ian Whates , British Science Fiction Association
  • Liz Bourke , Science Fiction Foundation
  • Andrew McKie , Science Fiction Foundation
  • Leila Abu El Hawa , SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014