Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

66th Annual Writers Guild of America Awards

WGA Awards 2014

WGA Awards 2014

The Writers Guild of America Awards for outstanding achievements in film, television, and radio have been presented annually by the Writers Guild of America, East and Writers Guild of America, West since 1949. In 2004, the show was broadcast on television for the first time.
Nominations were announced on Friday, January 3rd; winners were announced on Sunday, February 1st.
Following is the list of winners..

WGA Award (Screen) :
Best Original Screenplay : Her – Spike Jonze (written by)
Best Documentary Screenplay : Stories We Tell – Sarah Polley (written by)
Best Adapted Screenplay : Captain Phillips – Billy Ray (screenplay)
WGA Award (TV) :
Comedy/Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials : Blake Shelton’s Not So Family Christmas – Jay Martel (head writer), Ian Roberts (head writer), Alex Rubens (writer), Charlie Sanders (writer)
Short Form New Media – Original : Sylvia Plath – Girl Detective, Mike Simses Episode 4 – “The Collected Sylvia”
Documentary – Other than Current Events : Frontline – Michael Kirk (written by), The American Experience: Randall MacLowry (telescript/story by), Michelle Ferrari (telescript)
Documentary – Current Events : Frontline – Marcela Gaviria, Martin Smith
Drama Series : Breaking Bad – Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett
Quiz and Audience Participation : Jeopardy!: John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Jim Rhine, Steve Tamerius, Billy Wisse
News – Analysis, Feature or Commentary : 60 Minutes – Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados, Michael Radutzky
Comedy Series : Veep – Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche, Will Smith
Episodic Drama : Breaking Bad: Gennifer Hutchison (written by)
Episodic Comedy : 30 Rock – Jack Burditt (written by), Robert Carlock (written by)
Daytime Drama : Days of Our Lives – Lorraine Broderick (written by), David Cherrill (written by), Carolyn Culliton (written by), Richard Culliton (written by), Rick Draughon (written by), Christopher Dunn (written by), Janet Iacobuzio (written by), David A. Levinson (written by), Ryan Quan (written by), Dave Ryan (written by), Melissa Salmons (written by), Christopher Whitesell (written by)
Long Form – Adapted : Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight – Shawn Slovo
News – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report : World News with Diane Sawyer – Lisa Ferri, Matt Negrin
Children’s – Episodic & Specials : A.N.T. Farm – Vincent Brown
Comedy/Variety (Including Talk) – Series : The Colbert Report – Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Michael Brumm, Nate Charny, Rich Dahm, Paul Dinello, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Gabe Gronli, Dan Guterman, Barry Julien, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Bobby Mort, Meredith Scardino, Max Werner
Animation : The Simpsons – Joel H. Cohen
New Series : House of Cards – Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem, Beau Willimon
Television Graphic Art and Animation : David Rosen
On-Air Promotion (Television, New Media or Radio) : Erial Tompkins
Animation Writers Caucus Animation Award
Sam Simon
Laurel Award for Screen Writing Achievement
Paul Mazursky
Laurel Award for TV Writing Achievement
Garry Marshall
Valentine Davies Award
Sam Simon
Morgan Cox Award
T.S. Cook
Paul Selvin Honorary Award
We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks: Alex Gibney
Outstanding Achievement in Writing Videogame Writing
The Last of Us: Neil Druckmann (written by)

Awards & Winners © 2014