Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

9th European Inventor Award ceremony going to take place today on 17 June 2014 in Berlin, Germany

European Inventor Award 2014

European Inventor Award 2014

Annual the European Inventor Award brings together some of the world’s brightest innovators and also leading figures from business, politics, media and the sciences.
The next 9th European Inventor Award ceremony will take place on 17 June 2014 in Berlin, Germany.

Deutsche Telekom’s Berlin Representative Office
(Former Kaiserliches Telegrafenamt),
Französische Straße 33 a-c,
10117 Berlin,

See the finalists of European Inventor Award :


Industry Name Finalist
Mobile network communication standard LTE Erik Dahlman, Muhammad Kazmi, Robert Baldemair, Stefan Parkvall, George Jöngren, Henning Wiemann, Johan Torsner and Magnus Stattin (Sweden, Austria, Germany)
Self-cleaning concrete Luigi Cassar, Gian Luca Guerrini and team (Italy)
Drug against multidrug-resistant tuberculosis Koen Andries, Jérôme Guillemont, Imre Csoka, Laurence F.F. Marconnet-Decrane, Frank C. Odds, Jozef F.E. Van Gestel, Marc Venet, Daniel Vernier (Belgium, France, United Kingdom)



Enterprise Name Finalist
Inflatable bike helmet Terese Alstin, Anna Haupt (Sweden)
Energy-efficient water purification Peter Holme Jensen, Claus Hélix-Nielsen, Danielle Keller (Denmark)
Fractal-based antennae for mobile phones Carles Puente, Carmen Borja, Jaume Anguera, Jordi Soler, Edouard Rozan (Spain)



Research Name Finalist
Microchip for quick DNA testing Christofer Toumazou (United Kingdom)
Gene-silencing technique to treat diseases Thomas Tuschl (Germany)
Implantable biofuel cell that runs on glucose Philippe Cinquin, Serge Cosnier, Chantal Gondran, Fabien Giroud (France)



Work Finalist
The QR code Masahiro Hara, Takayuki Nagaya, Motoaki Watabe, Tadao Nojiri, Yuji Uchiyama (Japan)
Humanised monoclonal antibodies for drugs Cary L. Queen, Harold E. Selick (USA)
3D printing (stereolithography) Charles W. Hull (USA)



Work Finalist
Cochlear implant to restore hearing Ingeborg Hochmair, Erwin Hochmair (Austria)
Wall plug, synchronised flash and many more Artur Fischer (Germany)
3D brain atlases for clinical use Wieslaw L. Nowinski (Poland)


The programme schedule is as follows :

Time Programme
10.00 Hrs Meet and greet
11.00 Hrs Award ceremony
The awards will be presented to winners in the following categories:

  • Industry
  • Non-European Countries
  • Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises (SMEs)
  • Research
  • Popular Prize
  • Lifetime Achievement
13.00 Hrs Reception and buffet lunch

For more information please visit :

Awards & Winners © 2014