Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Time Wins Arthur C Clarke Award

Adrian TchaikovskyBritish author Adrian Tchaikovsky has won the 30th Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction literature. Tchaikovsky won the UK’s most prestigious science fiction prize for Children of Time, in which the remnants of humanity leave a dying Earth for a terraformed new planet, only to discover that the world is now occupied by a new species.

The winner was announced on the evening of Wednesday 24th August at a special ceremony held at Foyles bookshop’s flagship store on Charing Cross Road, London, and presented in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers and fans.Children of Time

The evening began with a toast to the memory of Sir Arthur C. Clarke led by Angie Edwards, Sir Arthur’s niece, and the winner, Adrian Tchaikovsky, was presented with a trophy in the form of a commemorative engraved bookend cheque as well as prize cheque for £2016.00.

This year’s judges were Ian Whates and David Gullen for the British Science Fiction Association, Andrew McKie and Liz Bourke for the Science Fiction Foundation, and Leila Abu El Hawa for SCI-FI- LONDON. Andrew M. Butler was chair of judges. Tom Hunter was awards director.

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014