Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

ALMA Awards for Excellence in 2014

The African Leaders Malaria Alliance announced on Thursday, 3 Feb 2014, that it awarded seven African countries for demonstrating exemplary leadership in malaria control.

There are Seven African countries are the recipients of the 2014 African Leaders Malaria Alliance (ALMA) Award for Excellence for their exemplary leadership in maintaining an average of 95% coverage year round, in the implementation of Long-Lasting Insecticidal Nets and or Indoor Residual Spraying interventions against malaria which were held on 3 Feb 2014.

During the official opening of the African Union Summit of heads of state, H.E. Armando Guebuza, President of Mozambique, conferred the 2014 African Leaders Malaria Alliance (ALMA) Awards for Excellence in Vector Control to Cape Verde, Madagascar, Malawi, Namibia, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, and Swaziland.

ALMA Award

ALMA Award



The awardees were chosen by an independent selection committee representing the World Health Organization (WHO), Roll Back Malaria (RBM), the private sector, civil society and academia. The selection is based upon the data collected by RBM Partners and reflected in the ALMA Scorecard for Accountability and Action and country quarterly reports.

Recipients of the 2014 ALMA Awards for Excellence in Implementation of Vector Control are:

1.Cape Verde 2.Madagascar
3.Malawi 4.Namibia
5.Rwanda 6.Sao Tome and Principe

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2014 ALMA Awards for Excellence for their significant contribution in the fight against malaria.

For more details of winners and nominations please visit –

Awards & Winners © 2014