Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners


Shoemaker Won WSFA Small Press Award


The winner of the 2016 Washington Science Fiction Association (WSFA) Small Press Award is chosen by the members of the Washington Science Fiction Association and presented at their annual convention, Capclave, held this year on October 9-11th in Gaithersburg, Maryland at the Hilton Washington DC North. The 2016 WSFA Small Press Award was presented by Steve Stiles.
The winner of the 2016 WSFA Small Press Award was Today I Am Paul by Martin L. Shoemaker, published in Clarkesworld Magazine, edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace (August 2015). The award was accepted by Neil Clarke, on behalf of Martin Shoemaker.

McDonald Won Gaylactic Spectrum Awards

Logo of the Gaylactic Spectrum Award Foundation

The winner for the 2016 Gaylactic Spectrum Award in Best Novel category was announced at Gaylaxicon 2016, held October 7-9, 2016 in Minneapolis MN, at the DoubleTree Hotel Minneapolis-Park Place.
The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards honors outstanding works of science fiction, fantasy and horror that explore LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender) characters, themes, or issues in a positive way.

Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Leah Bobet won Copper Cylinder Award


The Copper Cylinder Awards celebrate “the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year,” and are selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society. In the Adult category‚ Silvia Moreno-Garcia was selected for her debut novel, Signal to Noise (Solaris Books)‚ which follows a teenage girl who discovers how to cast spells using her record collection.

The Young Adult award went to Leah Bobet for An Inheritance of Ashes (Scholastic Canada)‚ the story of two sisters left in charge of their family farm during a dystopian future where humans are at war with a wicked god.

Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2016 were Announced


The British Fantasy Society announced the British Fantasy Awards Winners on September 25, 2016 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2016 at the Grand and Royal Hotels in Scarborough, England. Winners were chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award) which is chosen by the BFS committee.

Winners of 2016 David Gemmell Awards were Announced

The Gemmell Award

The winners of the 2016 Gemmell Awards have been announced. The presentation ceremony for this year’s Gemmell Awards took place on Saturday 24th September as part of Fantasycon held at the Grand Hotel and the Royal in Scarborough UK.

Private Eye Writers of America – 2016 Shamus Awards Winners


The winners for the 2016 Shamus Awards for private eye novels and short stories first published in the United States in 2015 were announced Friday, 16th September 2016 at the PWA Banquet at the Pere Marquette Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Eye Award is given for Lifetime Achievement. The Hammer Award is given for Best P.I. Series Character.

Leah Bobet and Gemma Files won 2016 Sunburst Awards

Sunburst Medallion

The Sunburst Award Society Announced The Winners Of The 2016 Sunburst Awards For Excellence In Canadian Literature Of The Fantastic in Adult, Young Adult, and Short Story categories.
Winners of the Adult and Young Adult Award receive a cash prize of $1,000. Winners of the Short Story Award receive a cash prize of $500.00. All winners also receive the distinctive Sunburst Medallion, which incorporates the Sunburst logo. The jurors for the 2016 Sunburst award were Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

‘March,’ ‘Saga’ and ‘Peanuts’ are big winners at the 2016 Harvey Awards

Harvey Awards 2016

Mid-sized comic publishers were the biggest winners at the 2016 Harvey Awards, which were presented Saturday, September 3, 2016, in conjunction with Baltimore Comic-Con. The Image hit series, Saga, and the historical drama from Top-Shelf, March: Book Two, both won big at the awards this year. The Harvey Awards have been a staple at Baltimore Comic-Con for the past 11 years. The only industry awards that are both nominated and selected by comic book professionals, the Harveys recognize outstanding achievement in more than 20 categories.

Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Time Wins Arthur C Clarke Award

2016 Arthur C. Clarke Award

British author Adrian Tchaikovsky has won the 30th Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction literature. Tchaikovsky won the UK’s most prestigious science fiction prize for Children of Time, in which the remnants of humanity leave a dying Earth for a terraformed new planet, only to discover that the world is now occupied by a new species.

Here are The 2016 Hugo Awards Winners: The Best in Sci-fi

Hugo Awards

The 2016 Hugo Awards were presented on the evening of Saturday, August 20, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention. Administration of the 2016 Hugo Awards is exclusively the responsibility of MidAmeriCon II.
4032 valid nominating ballots (4015 electronically-submitted and 17 paper) were received and counted. Members of the 2015, 2016, and 2017 Worldcons as of the end of January 2016 were eligible to make up to five equally-weighted nominations in each category.

Awards & Winners © 2014