Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners


Winners of 2015 Sidewise Awards are Announced

Sidewise Awards for Alternate History

The 20th Anniversary of the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History has been celebrated with the announcement of the 2015 long and short form winners for best alternate history. The awards were presented August 20, 2016 at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th Worldcon, at the Kansas City convention center in Kansas City MO.
The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s jury included Stephen Baxter, Karen Hellekson, Matt Mitrovich, Jim Rittenhouse, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

2016 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards Winners Announced

The Sturgeon and Campbell Trophies

The awards ceremony for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award and the 2016 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award were held on Thursday, August 18, 2016 in Kansas City, Missouri at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention. The event was hosted by McKitterick and Kij Johnson, Associate Director of the Gunn Center. Presenters included Christopher McKitterick, Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, and Elizabeth Anne Hull.

Worldcon 74: 1941 Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Winners of the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards were announced on August 18, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, held at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO. Mariss Pelot and Kevin Roche hosted the event. 481 valid nominating ballots (475 electronically-submitted and 6 paper) were received and counted in the final ballot.

The Retrospective Hugo Awards, or Retro Hugos are awarded 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon where no Hugos had been awarded. Therefore this years Worldon hosted the ceremony for 1941. The award will cover stories published in 1940.

Winners of The 2016 Aurora Awards Revealed

Aurora Awards trophy

The CSFFA (Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association) announced the winners for the 2016 Aurora Awards at Canvention 36, hosted by When Worlds Collide in Calgary, Alberta on August 12-14, 2016. Honoring the best works and activities done by Canadians in 2015, the Aurora Awards recognize both professional works and fan works.

2016 AURORA AWARD Nominations

Aurora Awards

The 2016 Aurora Awards finalists have been announced, celebrating the “best works and activities done by Canadians in 2015″. The first eight categories are for professional works. Winners will be honored at Canvention 36, hosted by When Worlds Collide in Delta Calgary South, Calgary, August 12-14, 2016. Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association (CSFFA) members have from June 15, 2016 until midnight EDT on July 23, 2016 to cast ballots.

2016 Sturgeon Award Finalists

The Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

The nominees for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced via a press release. The Sturgeon Award recognizes the best science fiction short story each year.
The award will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet as part of MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held August 17-21, 2016 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas MO.


2016 Arthur C. Clarke Award

The six titles on the Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist for best science fiction novel published in 2015 have been announced as part of the opening ceremony of the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 24th August at a celebratory award ceremony held at the Charing Cross Road branch of the bookseller Foyles. The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2016.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

Mythopoeic Awards: 2016 Winners Announced

Mythopoeic Awards 2016

The Mythopoeic Society announced the 2016 Mythopoeic Awards winners at Mythcon 47, August 7, 2016, at the Omni San Antonio Hotel at the Colonnade in San Antonio, Texas. According to the Mythopoeic Society, the award is given to the fantasy novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year.

2016 Endeavour Award Nominees Announced


Five novels are finalists for the 18th annual Endeavour Award. The Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest.
The 2016 judges are Jack McDevitt, Michaela Roessner, and Gordon Van Gelder. The winner will be announced November 18, 2016 at Orycon38 in Portland OR, Oregon’s major science fiction convention and will receive an honorarium of $1,000 prize.

Awards & Winners © 2014