Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners


2016 Rhysling Poetry Award Winners Announced

Rhysling Award

The Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories.
Poems are chosen by the membership of the SFPA, who vote on a list of nominations made by individual members and published in the Rhysling Anthology. Winners are often reprinted in the annual Nebula Awards Anthology.
The Rhysling Award will be presented at DiversiCon (July 29-31) in St. Paul (Bandana Square Best Western) by SFPA Vice President Sandra J. Lindow.

Mackintosh wins Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year

Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

The Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award is the UK’s top crime-fiction award, sponsored by Theakston’s Old Peculier was Celebrating its 12th year. TONIGHT broadcaster Mark Lawson will be in charge of the event held at Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK, announcing crime writing’s most wanted accolade, the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year.

2016 Sunburst Award Shortlist Announced

The Sunburst Award Committee has announced shortlist for the 2016 Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic. This year’s shortlists—for Adult Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, and Short Story (a new category) — showcase the impressive breadth and depth of Canadian literature of the fantastic.

Winners will be announced on September 14, 2016 and will receive a cash prize of $1,000 for the Adult and Young Adult categories and $500 for the Short Story category, as well as hand-crafted sunburst medallions.

RWA Announces 2016 RITA & Golden Heart Winners

The RITA® Award

Romance Writers of America (RWA) announced the winners of the 2016 RITA and Golden Heart Awards on July 16 at their annual convention RWA 2016 in San Diego, California.
The RITA—the highest award of distinction in romance fiction—recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas. The Golden Heart recognizes excellence in unpublished romance manuscripts. Winners of genre interest include:

2015 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners Announced

Shirley Jackson Awards

The 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 10th at Readercon 27, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Quincy, Massachusetts. Readercon Guests of Honor, Catherynne M. Valente and Tim Powers hosted the ceremony. The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

Awards & Winners © 2014