Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners


List of the 2016 Ig Nobel Prize Winners


The 2016 Ig Nobel Prizes were awarded on Thursday night, September 22, 2016 at the 26th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony, at Sanders Theatre, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.
The 2016 Ig Nobel Prize recognizes scientific research that makes you laugh, but then makes you think. While possibly less prestigious than the Nobel Prize, winners can take satisfaction in knowing their hard work raises interest in science around the world. The theme of the 26th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony was “Time”.

2016 ICTP Dirac Medallists Announced

ICTP's 2016 Dirac Medal

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) has awarded its 2016 Dirac Medal and Prize to Nathan Seiberg (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton), Mikhail Shifman (University of Minnesota) and Arkady Vainshtein (University of Minnesota) for their important contributions to a better understanding of field theories in the non-perturbative regime and in particular for exact results in supersymmetric field theories.

2016 Breakthrough Prize Honors Top Scientists

The Breakthrough Prize and its founders Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, Yuri and Julia Milner, and Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, tonight announced the recipients of the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, Fundamental Physics and Mathematics. A combined total of $21.9 million was awarded at the 3rd Annual Breakthrough […]

2015 Canada Gairdner Award Winners Announced

The Gairdner Foundation has announced its 2015 Canada Gairdner International Award winners at a dinner in Toronto on October 29th, 2015 as part of the Gairdner National and Student Outreach Programs. The Canada Gairdner International Award, an esteemed medical research prize considered to be a good predictor of future Nobel Prize winners. The award recognizes […]

Awards & Winners © 2014