Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners


The Gemmell AwardThe shortlists for 2016’s David Gemmell Awards have been announced. Open public voting will continue through August 19.

The winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony taking place on Saturday 24th September at Fantasycon held at the Grand Hotel and the Royal in Scarborough, UK.

David Gemmell Awards

Legend Award “Snaga”,                      Morningstar Award                                           Ravenheart Award

2016 David Gemmell Awards Shortlist

Category Nominees
The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel 
The Dread Wyrm, Miles Cameron (Gollancz)
Son of the Black Sword, Larry Correia (Baen)
Gotrek & Felix: Slayer, David Guymer (Black Library)
Ruin, John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan)
The Liar’s Key, Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager)
Morningstar Award for Best Debut
Battlemage, Stephen Aryan (Orbit)
The Traitor Baru Cormorant, Seth Dickinson (Pan Macmillan)
The Fire Sermon, Francesca Haig (Harper Voyager)
Starborn, Lucy Hounsom (Pan Macmillan)
The Vagrant, Peter Newman (Harper Voyager)
An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir (Harper Voyager)
Ravenheart Award for Best Cover Art
Kerem Beyit for the cover of The Dread Wyrm by Miles Cameron (Gollancz)
Jason Chan for the cover of The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager)
Larry Elmore & Carol Russo Design for the cover of Son of the Black Sword by Larry Correia (Baen)
Raymond Swanland for the cover of Archaon: Lord of Chaos by Rob Sanders (Black Library)
Paul Young for the cover of Ruin by John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan)

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014