Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

European Inventor Award 2016 : Winners Announced

european inventor award 1The EPO showcased the best and brightest in innovation at the European Inventor Award 2016 ceremony in MEO Arena Lisbon on June 9, 2016.

european inventor awardThe award is presented annually since 11 year by the EPO to recognise outstanding inventors from Europe and around the world, who have made an exceptional contribution to social development, technological progress and economic growth.
The 2016 winners in the five categories were:

European Inventor Award 2016 Winners

Category Winner Contribution
Lifetime Achievement Anton van Zanten (Germany/Netherlands) for his landmark contributions to automotive safety systems that have saved thousands of lives and are now mandatory features in new automobiles.
Industry Bernhard Gleich, Jürgen Weizenecker and team (Germany) for laying the foundation for a new category of medical imaging solutions.
Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs) Tue Johannessen, Ulrich Quaade, Claus Hviid Christensen and Jens Kehlet Nørskov (Denmark) for the ground-breaking application of ammonia in solid form to reduce air pollution from diesel
Research Alim-Louis Benabid (France) for revolutionising the treatment of Parkinson’s disease and other neurological conditions with the use of high-frequency deep brain stimulation.
Non-European countries Robert Langer (US) for the ground-breaking invention of biodegradable plastics that encapsulate powerful anti-cancer drugs for a new level of targeted delivery.
Popular Prize Helen Lee (UK/France) for her invention of diagnostic kits for resource-poor regions of the globe.

The winners were presented with a trophy in the shape of a sail, described by the organisers as a “an enduring symbol of exploration and human ingenuity”.

Awards & Winners © 2014