Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Five-Member Jury Panel Select the Winners of 9th Vijay Awards

9th Vijay Award JuriesThe Vijay Awards are presented by the Tamil television channel STAR Vijay to honour excellence in Tamil cinema. It has given annually since 2006. The awards are decided by a jury, consisting of noted filmmakers, critics and technicians, while winners in a separate category named “Favourite awards” are chosen by public voting.

The 9th Vijay Awards ceremony honouring the best of the Tamil film industry in 2014, will be held on 25th April 2015 at Chennai.

Director Balki will be part of an eminent panel of jury members that will decide the winners of the eagerly awaited 9th Annual Vijay Awards. Sources say that this is the first time that Balki has agreed to be on any jury panel. The other members of the panel are equally eminent in their own right. They are directors K Baghyaraj, Yuhi Sethu, K V Anand, and actress Nadiya.

In Vijay Awards tradition, the jury comprises elder members of the film fraternity who have a reputation for innovation and for making great cinema. The awards are given to the best productions, performances and efforts in various fields of cinema as chosen by a jury of film-makers, technicians and critics. Some of the categories are open to public voting online. All of the activity culminates in the awards night, which is usually a star-studded affair attended by the who’s who of Tamil cinema.

Jury Awards Categories -

  • Best Film
  • Best Director
  • Best Actor
  • Best Actress
  • Best Supporting Actor
  • Best Supporting Actress
  • Best Comedian
  • Best Villain
  • Best Debut Actor
  • Best Debut Actress
  • Best Music Director
  • Best Cinematographer
  • Best Editor
  • Best Art Director
  • Best Male Playback Singer
  • Best Female Playback Singer
  • Best Lyricist
  • Best Story, Screenplay Writer
  • Best Choreographer
  • Best Stunt Director
  • Best Make Up
  • Best Costume Designer
  • Best Find of the Year
  • Best Crew
  • Contribution to Tamil Cinema
  • Vijay Award for Entertainer of the Year
  • Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award for Excellence in Indian Cinema
  • Vijay Special Jury Award

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014