Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

In Ariel Awards 2014 The Golden Dream’ Wins Nine Awards: See full list of winners

The 56th edition of the Ariel Awards by the Mexican Academy of Cinematographic Science the “La Jaula de Oro” being the top winner, including the award “Best Picture”. The award ceremony was held on 27th May night.

La Jaula de Oro

The iconic Palace of Fine Arts was the stage for the ceremony, an event preceded by a nurtured red carpet decorated with yellow flowers on which great personalities of the Mexican film cinema walked.
“La Jaula de Oro” is the production of Diego Quemada-Díez won nine of the 14 awards it was nominated for, including Best Picture, Best Actor (Brandon López), Best Supporting Actor (Rodolfo Domínguez) and Best Original Script (Diego Quemada-Diez, Gibrán Portela and Lucía Carreras).
“Writing and directing ‘La Jaula de Oro’ is a great honor I’m proud of and thankful,” said Quemada-Diez, who directed one of the most revealing films regarding the situation of immigrants and their passing through Mexico towards the United States, according to El Universal.
The award to Best Director went to Amat Escalante for his work on “Heli”, a movie which won the Palm d’Or in the 2013 Cannes Film Festival and was nominated during the American Academy Awards.
The homage of the night was dedicated to filmmaker Arturo Ripstein for his career. The author of “El Evangelio de las Maravillas” (1998), was thankful for the Golden Ariel he was given for his 50 years of filmmaking.

Best Picture : “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Director : Amat Escalante Wool, “Heli”
Best Actress : Adriana Roel, “No Quiero Dormir Sola”
Best Actor : Brandon López, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Supporting Actor : Rodolfo Domíngue, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Supporting Actress : Lisa Owen, “Los Insólitos Peces Gato”
Best Original Script : Diego Quemada-Diez, Gibrán Portela and Lucía Carreras, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Adapted Script : María Renée Prudencio and Francisco Franco, “Tercera Llamada”
Best Photography : María José Secco, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Editing : Paloma López Carillo and Felipe Gómez, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Sound Production : Matías Barberis, Raúl Locatelli and Jaime Baksht, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Original Music : Leonardo Heiblum and Jacobo Lieberman, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Art Design : Lorenza Manrique Mansour, “Ciudadano Buelna”
Best Costume Design : Mayra Gabriela Juárez Vanegas, “Ciudadano Buelna”
Best Makeup : Adam Zoller, “Halley”
Best Special Effects : Alejandro Vázquez, “Cinco de Mayo: La Batalla”
Best Visual Effects : Charly Iturriaga, “Cinco de Mayo: La Batalla”
Best Debut Film : Diego Quemada-Diez, “La Jaula de Oro”
Best Documentary : Roverto Fiesco, “Quebranto”
Best Animated Film : Desierta
Best Fiction Short : Nicolás Rojas, “Música para Después de Dormir”
Best Documentary Short : Eugenio Polgovosky, “Un Salto de Vida”
Best Animated Short : Rita Basulto, “Lluvia en los Ojos”
Best Ibero-American Film : (Chile-Spain), Sebastián Lelio, “Gloria”

For more information please visit :

Awards & Winners © 2014