Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Julia Morgan is the 2014 AIA Gold Medal Recipient

The American Institute of Architects Board of Directors awarded the AIA Gold Medal to Julia Morgan, FAIA, the early 20th-century architect whose copious output of quality work secured her position as the first great female American architect. Morgan is the first woman to ever be given the AIA Gold Medal.

One of the notable Project of Julia Morgan

One of the notable Project of Julia Morgan

A pivotal figure in the history of American architecture and American women, Julia Morgan accomplished a litany of firsts she used to establish a new precedent for greatness.

A building technology expert who was professionally adopted by some of the most powerful post–Gilded Age patrons imaginable, Morgan practiced for nearly 50 years and designed more than 700 buildings of almost every type, including houses, churches, hotels, commercial buildings, and museums. The first woman admitted to the prestigious architecture school at the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris, Morgan designed comfortably in a wide range of historic styles.

Some of Julia Morgan most notable projects include: 

Julia Morgan's notable Project

Julia Morgan’s notable Project

For more information please visit :

Awards & Winners © 2014