Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Lorentz Medal Recepients

lllLorentz Medal is a distinction awarded which is awarded every four years by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Lorentz Medal was established in 1925 on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the doctorate of Hendrik Lorentz. This medal is given for important contributions to theoretical physics. Many of the award winners later received a Nobel Prize.


2010 Edward Witten
2006 Leo P. Kadanoff
2002 Frank Wilczek
1998 Carl E. Wieman & Eric A. Cornell
1994 Alexander M. Polyakov
1990 Pierre-Gilles de Gennes
1986 Gerard ‘t Hooft
1982 Anatole Abragam
1978 Nicolaas Bloembergen
1974 John H. van Vleck
1970 George E. Uhlenbeck
1966 Freeman J. Dyson
1962 Rudolph E. Peierls
1958 1958
1953 Fritz London
1947 Hendrik A. Kramers
1939 Arnold Sommerfeld
1935 Peter Debije
1931 Wolfgang Pauli
1927 Max Planck

For more information please visit :

Awards & Winners © 2014