Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Man Booker Prize 2014 Shortlist Announced

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction known as the Booker Prize, is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK. The prize has been awarded each year since 1969 to the best original full-length novel, written in the English language, by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations or the Republic of Ireland. In 2014, it was opened for the first time to any work published in the United Kingdom and in the English language. The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured of international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade.

Man Booker Prize 2014

Man Booker Prize 2014

The Booker Prize is greeted with great anticipation and fanfare. It is also a mark of distinction for authors to be selected for inclusion in the shortlist or even to be nominated for the “longlist”.

The 2014 judges will now re-read the shortlisted titles in order to select the winner, whose name will be revealed on Tuesday 14 October 2014 at a ceremony at London’s Guildhall.

The winner announcement will be televised by the BBC, the prize’s media partner.


The following is a shortlisted authors of the Booker Prize for Fiction.

Year Author Title Publisher Chair Judges
2014 Joshua Ferris To Rise Again at a Decent Hour Viking AC Grayling Sarah Churchwell,Jonathan Bate,
Dr Daniel Glaser,
Dr Alastair Niven,
Erica Wagner
Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North Chatto & Windus
Karen Joy Fowler We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves Serpent’s Tail
Howard Jacobson J Jonathan Cape
Neel Mukherjee The Lives of Others Jonathan Cape
Ali Smith How to be both Hamish Hamilton

Key Dates for the 2014 Man Booker Prize:

Longlist Announced Wednesday 23 July 2014
Shortlist Announced Tuesday 9 September 2014
Winner Announcement Tuesday 14th October 2014

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014