Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

McDonald Won Gaylactic Spectrum Awards

Logo of the Gaylactic Spectrum Award Foundation

Logo of the Gaylactic Spectrum Award Foundation

The winner for the 2016 Gaylactic Spectrum Award in Best Novel category was announced at Gaylaxicon 2016, held October 7-9, 2016 in Minneapolis MN, at the DoubleTree Hotel Minneapolis-Park Place.

The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards honors outstanding works of science fiction, fantasy and horror that explore LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender) characters, themes, or issues in a positive way.
The Winners and Recommended Short List for the 2016 Gaylactic Spectrum Awards in the Best Novel category are as follows:

2016 Gaylactic Spectrum Award Winner :
Luna: New Moon, Ian McDonald (Tor)
2016 Gaylactic Spectrum Award Shortlist :
Chaos Station, Jenn Burke & Kelly Jensen (Carina)
The Mystic Marriage, Heather Rose Jones (Bella)
The Bastard’s Paradise, Kathe Koja (Roadswell)
Planetfall, Emma Newman (Roc)
The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, Natasha Pulley (Bloomsbury)
Cherry Bomb, Kathleen Tierney (Roc)
Ebenezer, JoSelle Vanderhooft (Zumaya Boundless)
My Real Children, Jo Walton (Tor)

The 2016 Awards for Best Novel are for works first published in North America in 2015 to be eligible unless an exception is granted by the judging team.

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014