Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Michael Giacchino won Best Film composer of the year at the 15th World Soundtrack awards at Kuipke in Ghent

World SoundTrack Award 2 The 15th World Soundtrack Awards & Concert tooke place on 24 October 2015 at Kuipke in Ghent, the closing event of the 42nd Film Festival. The World Soundtrack Awards are awarded annually to mark and celebrate outstanding achievements in scoring music for motion pictures and to honour other achievements and composers as provided for in the rules and approved by the advisory board of the organizing body, the World Soundtrack Academy.

The presentation ceremony was followed by a concert with Brussels Philharmonic and the Flemish Radio Choir, conducted by Dirk Brosse, a selection brought out the extensive work of the central guest Alan Silvestri (‘Back to the Future’, ‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’ and ‘Forrest Gump’), Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Patrick Doyle and Discovery 2014 Daniel Pemberton. The Hollywood Composer made recently music for the autobiographical film ‘The Walk’ recorded at Flagey Studios in Brussels by Galaxy Studios, which in world premiered during the concert.
See the complete list of winners below:

15th World Soundtrack Awards winners
Award Category Winner
Best Composer of the year Michael Giacchino
Best Original Film Score of the Year Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) by Antonio Sanchez
Best Original Song Written for a Film “The Apology Song” from The Book of Life, Music by Gustavo Santaolalla, lyrics by Paul Williams, performed by Diego Luna
Discovery of the Year Antonio Sanchez for Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Sabam Award for Best Young Composer Peer Kleinschmidt
Public Choice Award The Maze Runner by John Paesano
Lifetime Achievement Award Patrick Doyle

The ceremony of the sixteenth edition of the World Soundtrack Awards is scheduled for October 22, 2016.
For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014