Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

National Board of Review announced 2014 Award Winners

National Board of Review

National Board of Review

The National Board of Review 2014 awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday, January 6, 2015 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City. The gala is Hosted by Lara Spencer. The National Board of Review honors diverse members of the film community at their annual Awards Gala, which also acts as a fundraiser for student grant philanthropy. The National Board of Review has named A Most Violent Year the 2014 Best Film of the Year.

Below is a full list of the awards given by the National Board of Review:

National Board of Review 2014
Best Film A Most Violent Year
Best Director Clint Eastwood – American Sniper
Best Actor (TIE) Oscar Isaac – A Most Violent Year; Michael Keaton – Birdman
Best Actress Julianne Moore – Still Alice
Best Supporting Actor Edward Norton – Birdman
Best Supporting Actress Jessica Chastain – A Most Violent Year
Best Original Screenplay Phil Lord & Christopher Miller – The Lego Movie
Best Adapted Screenplay Paul Thomas Anderson – Inherent Vice
Best Animated Feature How to Train Your Dragon 2
Breakthrough Performance Jack O’Connell – Starred Up & Unbroken
Best Directorial Debut Gillian Robespierre – Obvious Child
Best Foreign Language Film Wild Tales
Best Documentary Life Itself
William K. Everson Film History Award Scott Eyman
Best Ensemble Fury
Spotlight Award Chris Rock for writing, directing, and starring in – Top Five
NBR Freedom of Expression Award Rosewater
NBR Freedom of Expression Award Selma
Top Films American Sniper
Gone Girl
The Imitation Game
Inherent Vice
The Lego Movie
Top 5 Foreign Language Films Force Majeure
Gett: The Trial of Vivian Amsalem
Two Days, One Night
We Are the Best!
Top 5 Documentaries Art and Craft
Jodorowsky’s Dune
Keep On Keepin’ On
The Kill Team
Last Days in Vietnam
Top 10 Independent Films Blue Ruin
A Most Wanted Man
Mr. Turner
Obvious Child
The Skeleton Twins
Stand Clear of the Closing Doors
Starred Up
Still Alice

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014