Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

National Book Award Judges declared

The National Book Foundation, which oversees the National Book Awards, has announced the judges for the 2014 awards. The group of five judges for each four categories of the awards including fiction, non-fiction, poetry and young people’s literature is declared for the awards.



NBA Winner

NBA Winner

The Judges will select a longlist consisting 10 titles in each category. The longlist will be announced on September 10, 2014 and the finalists of 20. The award ceremony will be announced on November 19, 2014.

Geraldine Brooks is chairing the fiction panel, Alan Taylor is chairing the nonfiction panel, Roberto Polito chairing the poetry panel and Sharon M. Draper chairing the young people’s literature panel.

Schedule for National Book Award
Entry Form Closes May 15
Entered Books Due to Judges Jul 1
NBA Longlist Announcement Sep 10
Finalists Announcement Oct 15
NBA Ceremony and Benefit Dinner (Winners announced) Nov 19

The list of judges for each panel is:

Fiction panel:  Geraldine Brooks, Sheryl Cotleur, Michael Gorra, Adam Johnson and Lily Tuck

Nonfiction panel:  Robert Atwan, Gretel Ehrlich, Tom Reiss, Ruth J. Simmons and Alan Taylor

Poetry panel:  Eileen Myles, Katie Peterson, Rowan Ricardo Phillips, Robert Polito and Paisley Rekdal

Young People’s Literature panel:   Sharon M. Draper, Starr LaTronica, Dave Shallenberger, Sherri L. Smith and Rebecca Stead.

For more details of winners and nominations please visit –

Awards & Winners © 2014