Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Nobel Prize Winners Honoured in Sweden

Nobel Prize Winners 2014The annual award ceremony is held on December 10th. The anniversary of the death of the man who invented dynamite, Alfred Nobel, the founder of the Nobel Awards and a Swedish industrialist. This year’s 13 Nobel Prize laureates, announced on October 10, are from the United States, France, Norway, Germany, Japan, India and Pakistan.

The Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature are awarded at Stockholm, Sweden on 10th December 2014. The Nobel Laureates received the Nobel Medal, Nobel Diploma and a document confirming the Nobel Prize amount from King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden. The lectures are presented days before the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony. The Prize Award Ceremony in Stockholm had, almost without exception, took place at the Stockholm Concert Hall (Stockholms Konserthus) since 1926.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards the Nobel Prize in Physics, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences; the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet awards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; the Swedish Academy grants the Nobel Prize in Literature; and the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded not by a Swedish organization but by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

The various prizes are awarded yearly. Each recipient, or laureate, receives a gold medal, a diploma and a sum of money, which is decided by the Nobel Foundation. As of 2012, each prize was worth 8 million SEK (c. US$1.2 million, €0.93 million). The prize is not awarded posthumously; however, if a person is awarded a prize and dies before receiving it, the prize may still be presented. Though the average number of laureates per prize increased substantially during the 20th century, a prize may not be shared among more than three people.


For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014