Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

‘March,’ ‘Saga’ and ‘Peanuts’ are big winners at the 2016 Harvey Awards

Harvey Awards 2016

Mid-sized comic publishers were the biggest winners at the 2016 Harvey Awards, which were presented Saturday, September 3, 2016, in conjunction with Baltimore Comic-Con. The Image hit series, Saga, and the historical drama from Top-Shelf, March: Book Two, both won big at the awards this year. The Harvey Awards have been a staple at Baltimore Comic-Con for the past 11 years. The only industry awards that are both nominated and selected by comic book professionals, the Harveys recognize outstanding achievement in more than 20 categories.

2016 Ramon Magsaysay Award Winners: ‘Heroes of Asia’

Ramon Magsaysay Award

Three individuals and 3 organizations received the 2016 Ramon Magsaysay Awards on Wednesday night, August 31, the birth anniversary of the late Philippine president after whom the leadership award was named.
Receiving the Magsaysay Awards – considered the Asian equivalent of the Nobel Peace Prize – at the Cultural Center of the Philippines in Pasay City

Venice Film Festival set to kick off

73rd Venice Film Festival

The 73rd annual film festival is set to open in Venice, with top Hollywood talent tipped to appear on the red carpet. This year, world’s oldest festival takes place from August 31st to September 10, bringing enough shimmering star wattage to amp up the festival’s high-profile lineup. It kicks off with the opening-night film, the Ryan Gosling/Emma Stone-headlined musical La La Land, and will also feature Mel Gibson’s directorial return Hacksaw Ridge, the star-studded remake of The Magnificent Seven and the Amy Adams sci-fi thriller The Arrivals.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Ceremony will take place on today, 31 August 2016

Ramon Magsaysay Award

On 27 July 2016 the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Awards for the year 2016 were announced. There are total six awardees selected for the 2016 Ramon Magsaysay Award, often regarded as Asia’s Nobel Prize. Among these six two are Indians. The Magsaysay Awards Presentation Ceremonies, held every year on the birth anniversary of the late President Ramon Magsaysay. This year, prize will be given at the presentation Ceremony scheduled to be held in Manila (Cultural Center of the Philippines) on 31 August 2016.

2016 MTV Video Music Awards: Full list of Winners

MTV Video Music Award

The 2016 MTV Video Music Awards took place at Madison Square Garden in Manhattan on August 28, 2016, with Beyonce and Fifth Harmony emerging as big winners. Beyonce won the video of the year category for “Formation.” Girl group Fifth Harmony won for song of the summer with “All in My Head (Flex).”

Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Time Wins Arthur C Clarke Award

2016 Arthur C. Clarke Award

British author Adrian Tchaikovsky has won the 30th Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction literature. Tchaikovsky won the UK’s most prestigious science fiction prize for Children of Time, in which the remnants of humanity leave a dying Earth for a terraformed new planet, only to discover that the world is now occupied by a new species.

Here are The 2016 Hugo Awards Winners: The Best in Sci-fi

Hugo Awards

The 2016 Hugo Awards were presented on the evening of Saturday, August 20, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention. Administration of the 2016 Hugo Awards is exclusively the responsibility of MidAmeriCon II.
4032 valid nominating ballots (4015 electronically-submitted and 17 paper) were received and counted. Members of the 2015, 2016, and 2017 Worldcons as of the end of January 2016 were eligible to make up to five equally-weighted nominations in each category.

Winners of 2015 Sidewise Awards are Announced

Sidewise Awards for Alternate History

The 20th Anniversary of the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History has been celebrated with the announcement of the 2015 long and short form winners for best alternate history. The awards were presented August 20, 2016 at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th Worldcon, at the Kansas City convention center in Kansas City MO.
The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s jury included Stephen Baxter, Karen Hellekson, Matt Mitrovich, Jim Rittenhouse, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

2016 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards Winners Announced

The Sturgeon and Campbell Trophies

The awards ceremony for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award and the 2016 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award were held on Thursday, August 18, 2016 in Kansas City, Missouri at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention. The event was hosted by McKitterick and Kij Johnson, Associate Director of the Gunn Center. Presenters included Christopher McKitterick, Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, and Elizabeth Anne Hull.

The 2016 Chesley Awards Winners Announced

Chesley Awards 2016

The winners of the 2016 Chesley Awards were announced on August 18th at MidAmeriCon 2, during the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, Kansas City, MO, USA (August 17- 21) 2016.

The Chesley Awards were established by the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists (ASFA) to recognize individual artistic works and achievements in the field of science fiction and fantasy.

Awards & Winners © 2014