Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Sachin Tendulkar was voted Cricketer of the Generation at ESPNcricinfo awards

cricket-sachinSachin Tendulkar was voted Cricketer of the Generation as he staved off competition from Shane Warne and Jacques Kallis at ESPNcricinfo awards.
Sachin Tendulkar has been voted the cricketer of the generation by a 50-member jury of current and former cricketers and journalists.
Tendulkar beat strong competition from Shane Warne and Jacques Kallis to win the award, presented to mark the first generation of the existence of ESPNcricinfo, which has been online since 1993.
The jury that decided on the award included Michael Holding, Ian Chappell, Martin Crowe, Mark Taylor, Younis Khan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Barry Richards, John Wright and Jeff Dujon, among others.
The award is meant to honour the most outstanding cricketer between the years 1993 and 2013, and the occasion also marked the 20th anniversary celebrations for the cricket website.Cricket Sachin Tendulkar
“I am speechless, honestly,” said Tendulkar after receiving the award. “Thanks to ESPNcricinfo for considering me worthy enough.
Tendulkar has been the most successful batsman of his generation, having set innumerable records in both Tests and ODIs.
Kallis was without doubt the best allrounder of his generation, having amassed over 10,000 runs each in Tests and ODIs. In addition, he took 577 international wickets with his pace bowling.
Adored by fans across the cricketing world, the flamboyant Warne was the first bowler to 700 Test wickets.

Check all the awards won by Sachin Tendulkar at

Awards & Winners © 2014