Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Stuart Scott Honored With Jimmy V Award For Perseverance In ESPY 2014

Stuart Scott Accepts Jimmy V Award

Stuart Scott Accepts Jimmy V Award

Sportscaster Stuart Scott accepts the Jimmy V award for perseverance, at the ESPY Awards at the Nokia Theatre on Wednesday, July 16, 2014, in Los Angeles.
SportsCenter anchor, Stuart Scott, has been with ESPN since 1993 and he has hosted multiple hit sports shows over the years. He currently works for the ESPN family of networks as an anchor for SportsCenter episodes as well as National Football League and National Basketball Association programming. Besides SportsCenter, Scott has been the host of a number of television shows.
He was presented the Jimmy V Perseverance Award by Kiefer Sutherland, and the moment incredibly emotional for his ongoing, inspirational fight against cancer.

Stuart was diagnosed with appendiceal cancer in 2007 and then it came back two years later. Currently, he is still undergoing treatment. Scott was honored at the ESPYS  He shared that he had four surgeries in seven days in the week prior to his appearance where he was suffering from liver complications and kidney failures.
Jimmy ValvanoThe Jimmy V Perseverance Award was named after, and inspired by, the late Jimmy Valvano. While battling cancer, Valvano gave an emotional acceptance speech that included his famous words “Don’t Give Up . . . Don’t Ever Give Up!”. Valvano passed away less than two months later, but his words were never forgotten.
The Jimmy V Award is given to a deserving member of the sporting world who has overcome great obstacles through perseverance and determination. In 2007, Women’s College basketball coach Kay Yow became the very first recipient of the Jimmy V award. Past recipients include Eric LeGrand, Anthony Robles and George Karl.

Awards & Winners © 2014