Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Winners of 2016 David Gemmell Awards were Announced

The Gemmell AwardThe winners of the 2016 Gemmell Awards have been announced. The presentation ceremony for this year’s Gemmell Awards took place on Saturday 24th September as part of Fantasycon held at the Grand Hotel and the Royal in Scarborough UK.

The fantasy novel awards are voted for by the general public and are named after the fantasy author David Gemmell, who died in 2006. The awards are well known for the unusual shape of the prizes; The Legend Award is an actual axe, which is a scale model of Snaga, the axe wielded by Gemmell’s iconic hero Druss. The other two awards are statues inspired by Gemmell’s works. Winners received trophies based on David Gemmell’s novels and characters.

David Gemmell AwardsThe winners are as follows:

2016 David Gemmell Awards Winners

Category Winner
Ravenheart Award for Best Cover Art Jason Chan for the cover of The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence (Harper Collins)
Morningstar Award for Best Debut Peter Newman, The Vagrant (Harper Collins)
Legend Award for Best Novel Mark Lawrence, The Liar’s Key (Harper Collins)

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014