Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2016 were Announced

british-fantasy-awardsThe British Fantasy Society announced the British Fantasy Awards Winners on September 25, 2016 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2016 at the Grand and Royal Hotels in Scarborough, England.

Winners were chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award) which is chosen by the BFS committee. The winners are:

British Fantasy Awards 2016 Winners

Category Winners
Best anthology The Doll Collection, ed. Ellen Datlow (Tor Books)
Best artist Julie Dillon
Best collection Ghost Summer: Stories, Tananarive Due (Prime Books)
Best comic/ graphic novel Bitch Planet, Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter (Image Comics) (#2–5)
Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award) Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Macmillan)
Best film/television production Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Peter Harness (BBC One)
Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award) Rawblood, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
Best independent press Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)
Best magazine/periodical Beneath Ceaseless Skies, ed. Scott H. Andrews (Firkin Press)
Best newcomer(the Sydney J. Bounds Award) Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown (Macmillan)
Best non-fiction Letters to Tiptree, ed. Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)
Best novella The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn, Usman T. Malik (
Best short fiction Fabulous Beasts, Priya Sharma (
The Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award) The FantasyCon redshirts, past and present

The awards administrator was Stephen Theaker. The physical award is a handmade wooden bookend featuring Lee Thompson’s BFS logo design.
For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014