Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

Worldcon 74: 1941 Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Retro Hugo Awards WinnersWinners of the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards were announced on August 18, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, held at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO. Mariss Pelot and Kevin Roche hosted the event. 481 valid nominating ballots (475 electronically-submitted and 6 paper) were received and counted in the final ballot.

The Retrospective Hugo Awards, or Retro Hugos are awarded 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon where no Hugos had been awarded. Therefore this years Worldon hosted the ceremony for 1941. The award will cover stories published in 1940.

Below is the list of 2016 Retro Hugo Awards Winners :

1941 Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Category Winner
Best Novel (352 nominating ballots) Slan, A.E. Van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/40)
Best Novella (318 nominating ballots) “If This Goes On…”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/40)
Best Novelette (310 nominating ballots) “The Roads Must Roll”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 6/40)
Best Short Story (324 nominating ballots) “Robbie”, Isaac Asimov (Super Science Stories 9/40 as “Strange Playfellow”)
 Best Dramatic Presentation – Short (123 nominating ballots) Pinocchio
Best Dramatic Presentation – Long (250 nominating ballots) Fantasia
Best Graphic Story (92 nominating ballots) Batman #1 (Detective Comics, Spring 1940)
Best Professional Editor Short Form (183 nominating ballots) John W. Campbell
Best Professional Artist (86 nominating ballots) Virgil Finlay
Best Fanzine (63 nominating ballots) Futuria Fantasia
Best Fan Writer (70 nominating ballots) Ray Bradbury

For more details please visit

Awards & Winners © 2014