Awards & Winners

K. M. Peyton

Date of Birth 02-August-1929
Place of Birth Birmingham
(England, United Kingdom, Warwickshire, West Midlands, United Kingdom, with Dependencies and Territories)
Nationality United Kingdom
Also know as Kathleen M. Peyton, Kathleen M Peyton
Profession Writer, Author, Novelist
Kathleen Wendy Herald Peyton, MBE, who writes primarily as K. M. Peyton, is a British author of fiction for children and young adults. She has written more than fifty novels including the much loved "Flambards" series of pony stories, for which she won both the 1969 Carnegie Medal from the Library Association and the 1970 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, judged by a panel of British children's writers. In 1979 the Flambards trilogy was adapted by Yorkshire Television as a 13-part TV series, Flambards, starring Christine McKenna as the heroine Christina Parsons.

Awards by K. M. Peyton

Check all the awards nominated and won by K. M. Peyton.


Guardian Children's Fiction Prize
Honored for : The Flambards trilogy (1967\u20131969)

Nominations 1970 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Guardian Children's Fiction Prize The Flambards trilogy (1967\u20131969)


Carnegie Medal in Literature
Honored for : The Edge of the Cloud