Awards & Winners

Dana Stabenow

Date of Birth 27-March-1952
Place of Birth Anchorage
(Anchorage, AK Metropolitan Statistical Area, Alaska, United States of America, Area code 907)
Nationality United States of America
Profession Writer, Novelist, Author
Dana Stabenow is an American author who has written science fiction, mystery, and suspense/thriller novels. Many of Stabenow's books are set in her home state of Alaska, where she was raised by her single mother who lived and worked on a fish tender in the Gulf of Alaska. Stabenow received a B.A. in Journalism from the University of Alaska in 1973 and, after deciding to try her hand as an author, later enrolled in UAA's MFA program. Her first novel, Second Star was bought by Ace Science Fiction in 1990. It was followed by two other science fiction books. Her first Kate Shugak mystery, A Cold Day for Murder, won the Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original in 1993. Her 2011 Kate Shugak mystery, Though Not Dead, received the 2012 Nero Award. In 2007 Stabenow was named Alaska Artist of the Year in the Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities. In 2011, Stabenow wrote on her blog an informative article about her childhood reading experiences and how these influenced her to write detective novels

Awards by Dana Stabenow

Check all the awards nominated and won by Dana Stabenow.


Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original
Honored for : A Cold Day for Murder

Nominations 1993 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original A Cold Day for Murder


Nominations 1992 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Locus Award for Best First Novel Second Star