Awards & Winners

Joan Aiken

Date of Birth 04-September-1924
Place of Birth Rye
(United Kingdom, Rother)
Nationality England
Also know as Joan Delano Aiken, Joan Delano Aiken MBE
Profession Novelist, Writer, Author
Joan Delano Aiken MBE was an English writer specialising in supernatural fiction and children's alternate history novels. In 1999 she was awarded an MBE for her services to children's literature. For The Whispering Mountain, published by Jonathan Cape in 1968, she won the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, a once-in-a-lifetime book award judged by a panel of British children's writers, and she was a commended runner-up for the Carnegie Medal from the Library Association, recognising the year's best children's book by a British subject. She won an Edgar Allan Poe Award for Night Fall.

Awards by Joan Aiken

Check all the awards nominated and won by Joan Aiken.


Nominations 2004 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Locus Award for Best Young-Adult Book Midwinter Nightingale


Edgar Award for Best Juvenile
Honored for : Night fall

Nominations 1972 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Night fall


Guardian Children's Fiction Prize
Honored for : The Whispering Mountain

Nominations 1969 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Guardian Children's Fiction Prize The Whispering Mountain