Awards & Winners

Mary Rosenblum

Date of Birth 1952
Place of Birth Levittown
(Nassau County, Long Island, New York)
Nationality United States of America
Also know as Mary Freeman
Profession Author
Mary Rosenblum is a science fiction and mystery author. Mary Rosenblum grew up in Allison Park, "a dead little coal mining town outside Pittsburgh PA," and attended Reed College in Oregon, earning a biology degree. She attended the Clarion West workshop in 1988. Her first story came out in 1990 and her first novel in 1993. Her career began, and has largely returned to, science fiction. However from 1999 to 2002 she wrote the "Gardening Mysteries" novel series under the name "Mary Freeman." Her gardening involved mystery novels as Mary Freeman are said to be significantly different from her science fiction and so her two followings do not necessarily overlap. In 1994 she won the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel for the novel The Drylands. In 2009 she won the Sidewise Award for Alternate History Short Form for her story "Sacrifice". Mary Rosenblum is also an accomplished cheesemaker, teaching the craft at selected workshops. At the age of 57, Rosenblum earned her pilot's license. Located in Oregon, she is one of only 10% of female pilots in that state. OregonLive did a profile on her aviation ambitions in their July 27, 2012, edition.

Awards by Mary Rosenblum

Check all the awards nominated and won by Mary Rosenblum.


Sidewise Award for Best Short-Form Alternate History
Honored for : Sacrifice

Nominations 2008 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Nebula Award for Best Novelette Night Wind


Nominations 2007 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel Horizons


Nominations 1997 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Hugo Award for Best Novella Gas Fish
Locus Award for Best Collection Synthesis & Other Virtual Realities


Tähtivaeltaja Award
Honored for : Chimera

Nominations 1996 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel The Stone Garden


Compton Crook Award
Honored for : The Drylands

Nominations 1994 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
James Tiptree, Jr. Award Rat
Locus Award for Best First Novel The Drylands
Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel Chimera