Awards & Winners

Seamus Heaney

Date of Birth 13-April-1939
Place of Birth Castledawson
(United Kingdom)
Nationality Republic of Ireland
Profession Poet, Writer, Author, Playwright, Translator, Educator
Seamus Justin Heaney, MRIA was an Irish poet, playwright, translator and lecturer, and the recipient of the 1995 Nobel Prize in Literature. In the early 1960s, he became a lecturer in Belfast after attending university there and began to publish poetry. He lived in Sandymount, Dublin, from 1972 until his death. Heaney was a professor at Harvard from 1981 to 1997 and its Poet in Residence from 1988 to 2006. From 1989 to 1994 he was also the Professor of Poetry at Oxford and in 1996 was made a Commandeur de l'Ordre des Arts et Lettres. Other awards that he received include the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the E. M. Forster Award, the PEN Translation Prize, the Golden Wreath of Poetry, T. S. Eliot Prize and two Whitbread Prizes. In 2012, he was awarded the Lifetime Recognition Award from the Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry. His literary papers are held by the National Library of Ireland. Robert Lowell called him "the most important Irish poet since Yeats" and many others, including the academic John Sutherland, have echoed the sentiment that he was "the greatest poet of our age". Robert Pinsky has stated that "with his wonderful gift of eye and ear Heaney has the gift of the story-teller". Upon his death in 2013, The Independent described him as "probably the best-known poet in the world".

Awards by Seamus Heaney

Check all the awards nominated and won by Seamus Heaney.



Costa Book of the Year
Honored for : Beowulf


Costa Book of the Year
Honored for : The Spirit Level


Nobel Prize in Literature
(for works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past)


Nominations 1994 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Neustadt International Prize for Literature