Awards & Winners

Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is an international prize presented by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians. Named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel, the award was established in 2001 by the Government of Norway and complements the Holberg Prize in the humanities, social sciences, law and theology. The Abel Prize has often been described as the "mathematician's Nobel prize". It comes with a monetary award of 6 million Norwegian kroner, to be used to fund future research. The prize board has also established an Abel symposium, administered by the Norwegian Mathematical Society. The award ceremony takes place in the Atrium of the University of Oslo Faculty of Law, where the Nobel Peace Prize was formerly awarded between 1947 and 1989. A prize in honour of Abel was first proposed by Sophus Lie. Lie's death marked an interruption in the establishment of the award, and King Oscar II's attempt to establish the award in 1902 was unsuccessful, complicated by the dissolution of the union between Sweden and Norway three years later.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Abel Prize since 2003.

Abel Prize


Check all the winners of 2013 Abel Prize.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Pierre Deligne
(For seminal contributions to algebraic geometry and for their transformative impact on number theory, representation theory, and related fields.)