Awards & Winners

Alex Awards

The Alex Awards annually recognize "ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18". Essentially the award is a listing by the American Library Association parallel to its annual Best Books for Young Adults, a longer list of recommended books that have been promoted in the YA category. YALSA also names several other "Top Tens" annually. The awards, named after the dedicated Baltimore librarian, Margaret Alexander Edwards, who was known as "Alex", are sponsored by the Margaret Alexander Edwards Trust and Booklist magazine. The list of books published during the previous year serves to provide the choice of titles selected for the awards which were initially bestowed in 1998 and, since 2002, have been administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association a division of the American Library Association. Only one author, Neil Gaiman, has made the list twice.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Alex Awards since 2009.

Alex Awards


Check all the winners of 2009 Alex Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Michael Swanwick
Honored for : The Dragons of Babel
Stephen King
Honored for : Just After Sunset