Awards & Winners

BAFTA Award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

British Academy Film Awards

The BAFTA award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer is presented annually at the British Academy Film Awards in London. The British Academy of Film and Television Arts, is a British organisation that hosts annual awards shows for film, television, children's film and television, and interactive media. The Outstanding Debut award recognises the work of writers, directors and producers whose first films have been released in cinemas during the award's qualification window. It is presented in honour of screenwriter and producer Carl Foreman. From 1998-2000 this category was known as the Carl Foreman Award for Most Promising Newcomer in British Film.. From 2001-2008 this category was known as the Carl Foreman Award for Special Achievement by a British Director, Writer or Producer in their first Feature Film. From 2009-present the award has been known by its current name of Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer.
Date Established : 1998

Check all the winners of BAFTA Award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer presented under British Academy Film Awards since 1999 .

Kieran Evans

Honored for : Kelly + Victor

Nominations 2014 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Colin Carberry Good Vibrations
Glenn Patterson Good Vibrations
Kelly Marcel Saving Mr. Banks
Kieran Evans Kelly + Victor
Paul Wright For Those in Peril
Polly Stokes For Those in Peril
Scott Graham Shell

Bart Layton, Dimitri Doganis

Honored for : The Imposter

Nominations 2013 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tina Gharavi I Am Nasrine
Bart Layton The Imposter
Dimitri Doganis The Imposter
Jacqui Morris McCullin
David Manos Morris McCullin
James Bobin The Muppets
Dexter Fletcher Wild Bill
Danny King Wild Bill

Diarmid Scrimshaw, Paddy Considine

Honored for : Tyrannosaur

Nominations 2012 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Paddy Considine Tyrannosaur
Diarmid Scrimshaw Tyrannosaur
Richard Ayoade Submarine
Will Sharpe Black Pond
Tom Kingsley Black Pond
Sarah Brocklehurst Black Pond
Joe Cornish Attack the Block
Ralph Fiennes Coriolanus

Chris Morris

Honored for : Four Lions

Nominations 2011 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Chris Morris Four Lions
Clio Barnard The Arbor
Tracy O'Riordan The Arbor
Banksy Exit Through the Gift Shop
Jaimie D'Cruz Exit Through the Gift Shop
Gareth Edwards Monsters
Nick Whitfield Skeletons

Duncan Jones

Honored for : Moon

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Duncan Jones Moon
Stuart Hazeldine Exam
Andrew Thompson Mugabe and the White African
Lucy Bailey Mugabe and the White African
Elizabeth Morgan Hemlock Mugabe and the White African
David Pearson Mugabe and the White African
Sam Taylor-Wood Nowhere Boy
Eran Creevy Shifty

Steve McQueen

Honored for : Hunger

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Steve McQueen Hunger
Judy Craymer Mamma Mia!
Simon Chinn Man on Wire
Solon Papadopoulos Of Time and the City
Roy Boulter Of Time and the City
Garth Jennings Son of Rambow

Matt Greenhalgh

Honored for : Control

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Matt Greenhalgh Control
Sarah Gavron Brick Lane
Andrew Piddington The Killing of John Lennon
Mia Bays Scott Walker: 30 Century Man
Chris Atkins Taking Liberties

Andrea Arnold

Honored for : Red Road

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Andrea Arnold Red Road
Gary Tarn Black Sun
Christine Langan Pierrepoint
Paul Andrew Williams London to Brighton
Julian Gilbey Rollin' With The Nines

Joe Wright

Honored for : Pride & Prejudice

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Joe Wright Pride & Prejudice
Richard Hawkins Everything
Annie Griffin Festival
David Belton Shooting Dogs
Peter Fudakowski Tsotsi

Amma Asante

Honored for : A Way of Life

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Amma Asante A Way of Life
Andrea Gibb AfterLife
Matthew Vaughn Layer Cake
Nira Park Shaun of the Dead
Shona Auerbach Dear Frankie

Emily Young

Honored for : Kiss of Life

Nominations 2004 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Emily Young Kiss of Life
Sergio Casci American Cousins
Peter Webber Girl with a Pearl Earring
Jenny Mayhew To Kill a King

Asif Kapadia

Honored for : The Warrior

Nominations 2003 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Duncan Roy AKA
Simon Bent Christie Malry's Own Double-Entry
Lucy Darwin Lost in La Mancha
Asif Kapadia The Warrior

Joel Hopkins, Nicola Usborne

Honored for : Jump Tomorrow

Nominations 2002 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Joel Hopkins Jump Tomorrow
Nicola Usborne Jump Tomorrow
Ruth Kenley-Letts Strictly Sinatra
Julian Fellowes Gosford Park
Jack Lothian Late Night Shopping
Steve Coogan The Parole Officer
Henry Normal The Parole Officer
Richard Parry South West 9

Pawe? Pawlikowski

Honored for : Last Resort

Nominations 2001 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Pawe? Pawlikowski Last Resort
Mark Crowdy Saving Grace
Stephen Daldry Billy Elliot
Simon Cellan Jones Some Voices
Lee Hall Billy Elliot

Lynne Ramsay

Honored for : Ratcatcher

Nominations 2000 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Lynne Ramsay Ratcatcher
Justin Kerrigan Human Traffic
Ayub Khan-Din East Is East
Kirk Jones Waking Ned

Richard Kwietniowski

Honored for : Love and Death on Long Island

Nominations 1999 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Richard Kwietniowski Love and Death on Long Island
Sandra Goldbacher The Governess
Shane Meadows Twenty Four Seven
Matthew Vaughn Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels