Awards & Winners

BAFTA Rising Star Award

British Academy Film Awards

Rising Star Award is one of the award categories for the British Academy of Film and Television Arts which acknowledges new talents in the acting industry. The award was created after Mary Selway's death in 2004. She has been recognised for her successful role as a casting director and has helped many new actors and actresses to their claim to fame. The five nominees have been chosen regardless of gender and nationality, and whether they have made a breakthrough in television, film or both. Despite the nominees being chosen by the BAFTA juries, the winner is chosen entirely by the public votes via text, internet or phone. This award was sponsored by Orange UK until 2012, in 2013 it was sponsored by EE. The first winner was James McAvoy in 2006.
Date Established : 2006

Check all the winners of BAFTA Rising Star Award presented under British Academy Film Awards since 2006 .

Nominations 2014 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Dane DeHaan
George MacKay
Will Poulter
Léa Seydoux
Lupita Nyong'o

Nominations 2013 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Elizabeth Olsen
Andrea Riseborough
Suraj Sharma
Juno Temple
Alicia Vikander

Nominations 2012 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Adam Deacon
Chris Hemsworth
Tom Hiddleston
Chris O'Dowd
Eddie Redmayne

Nominations 2011 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Emma Stone
Andrew Garfield
Tom Hardy
Gemma Arterton
Aaron Taylor-Johnson

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jesse Eisenberg
Nicholas Hoult
Carey Mulligan
Tahar Rahim
Kristen Stewart

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Michael Cera
Michael Fassbender
Rebecca Hall
Toby Kebbell
Noel Clarke

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tang Wei
Sam Riley
Shia LaBeouf
Ellen Page
Sienna Miller

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Eva Green
Ben Whishaw
Cillian Murphy
Emily Blunt
Naomie Harris

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
James McAvoy
Gael García Bernal
Chiwetel Ejiofor
Rachel McAdams
Michelle Williams